Monday, May 26, 2008

Malaysia - Factsheet

Name: Malaysia
Previously: Malaya
Capital: Kuala Lumpur

Administrative Division:
States: 13 - Selangor, Johor, Kedah, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Kelantan, Terengganu, Perak, Perlis, Pulau Pinang, Sabah and Sarawak.
Fedaral Territories - Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya (also administrative centre and Labuan)

Population: 25.3 million (July 08 est)
Etchnic Group: Malays (50.4%0, Chinese (23.7%), Indian (7.1%) Others (7.8%)
Religion: Muslim (60.4%), Buddhist (19.2%), Christian (9.1%), Hindu (6.3%) and others includes Confucianism, Taonism and unknown.
Language: Bahasa Malaysia (official), English (widely spoken), Chinese, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Punjabi, Thai, Iban, Murut and Kadazan.
Area : Total (329,750 sq km - Land: 328,550 sq km, Water: 1,200 sq. km)
Climate: Tropical, moonsoon season starts from October til February
Natural Resources : Tin (long time ago), petroleum (most important now), timber, copper, iron ore, natural gas, bauxite

Fact from and

No comments: